Zoom Meeting Space Management

In addition to securing your meetings beforehand by following the Zoom Privacy Tips, there are a number of tools available to you for maintaining control of a live meeting.

Reporting Security Concerns at UCF

If you have experienced an intentional disruption of your Zoom meeting, please notify the Security Incident Response Team at SIRT@ucf.edu.

If you have any questions, please contact the Information Security Office at infosec@ucf.edu.

Record the Meeting

In order to deter “Zoom bombers” or others from causing trouble during a meeting, consider recording the meeting. Inform all participants that the meeting is being recorded, and remind participants that improper classroom behavior is not tolerated within Zoom sessions and may result in a referral to the Office of Student Conduct.

Mute Participants/Prevent Participants from Unmuting Themselves

During a Zoom meeting, the host has the ability to disable participants from being able to unmute their microphones. There are two different ways to do this.

Method One

  1. During a meeting, click Participants.
  2. Click the Mute All button.
    Mute All
  3. A dialogue box will pop up letting you know that everyone will be muted. Uncheck the box next to Allow participants to unmute themselves to prevent participants from unmuting their mics.
    Allow participants to unmute themselves

Method Two

  1. During a meeting, click Participants.
  2. Click More to pull up additional options.
  3. Uncheck Allow participants to unmute themselves to prevent participants from unmuting their mics.
    Allow participants to unmute themselves

The host can individually unmute participants if they need to speak by hovering over the participant’s name and selecting Unmute. This is also the same way you can mute an individual person.
Unmute participant

Prevent Participants from Turning on Webcam

During the meeting, the host can disable a participant from turning on their camera. After disabling a participant’s camera, the participant will no longer be allowed to turn their camera on unless the host re-enables the setting.

  1. Click Participants.
  2. Hover over a participant’s name and click More.
  3. Click Stop Video in the dropdown menu that appears.
    Stop Video

Remove a Participant from a Meeting

The host can remove a participant from the meeting if needed. Once a participant is removed, they cannot re-enter the meeting. There are two ways to remove a participant during a meeting.

Method One

  1. Click Participants.
  2. Hover over a participant’s name and click More.
  3. Click Remove in the dropdown menu that appears.
    Remove Participant

Method Two

  1. Click Security.
  2. Click Remove Participant.
  3. Click Remove next to the participant you want to remove.
  4. A pop-up window asking for verification will appear. Click OK to confirm the participant’s removal.

Zoom Security Icon

Security Options

Zoom has added a Security button that can be found in the Zoom toolbar during meetings. The following options can be altered during a meeting.

Prevent Additional Participants from Joining a Meeting in Progress

Lock the meeting after a certain amount of time to prevent new participants from joining. If you chose to use this option, make sure to inform participants of the lock out time beforehand. A meeting cannot be locked in advance.

  1. During a meeting, click Security.
  2. Click Lock Meeting.

Enable the Waiting Room

Use the Waiting Room feature. It prevents new participants from joining the call until the host approves. The waiting room should be enabled by default when you create a meeting, but you can also enable the waiting room during a meeting.

  1. During a meeting, click Security.
  2. Click Enable waiting room.

Disable Screen Sharing for Participants

By default, screen sharing permissions are only granted to the host.

  1. During a meeting, click Security.
  2. Enable or disable Share Screen under Allow participants to.

Disable Chat

Disable Chat so participants cannot spam others with messages.

  1. During a meeting, click Security.
  2. Deselect Chat under Allow participants to.

Prevent Participants from Renaming Themselves

Disable the Rename Themselves feature to prevent participants from changing their display name in the meeting.

  1. During a meeting, click Security.
  2. Deselect Rename Themselves under Allow participants to.