Collaborations

What are Collaborations?

Collaborations are web-based tools like Google Docs and Office365 that allow multiple users to work together on the same document at the same time. Collaborative documents are saved in real-time, meaning a change made by any of its users is immediately visible to everyone.

Google Docs is like Microsoft Word, but lets you work together with others on the same file at the same time without having to email it around. Collaborations that leverage Google Docs require that all participants have created and linked their Google account to their personal Settings. Many students are already familiar with Google Docs and have an existing account.

Note: You cannot create a Collaboration with a Google Doc that has been made previously. When you create a Collaboration it will make a new document. If you have information in an older document that you wish to place into the Collaboration simply copy and paste the desired information.

When would I use Collaborations?

  • To assign student groups a collaborative assignment, requiring them to turn in the URL as a graded Assignment. (Note: Students can also upload a Google Doc to submit an Assignment, but using the URL keeps the share and edit rights in your SpeedGrader window.)
  • To copy and paste lecture notes that everyone can access.
  • To share with your students bullet-point lists or agendas for upcoming synchronous class time or meetings.
  • To create a text-based whiteboard that everyone in the classroom can see and refer to later.

Who creates Collaborations?

As the Teacher of a course, you can create Collaborations at any time. If you assign students to groups, they also have the option to create a Collaboration that is only available to group members.

Can I edit or delete a Collaboration?

Yes, at any time you as the instructor can change who has access to a Collaboration, edit the description or purpose of the Collaboration, or delete the Collaboration. You will have the option to either delete a Collaboration only from your course, or to delete the source document as well.